The State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, December 11, 2018,  passed a resolution calling on the State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, to direct the State Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice for a speedy trial of the four murder suspects who confessed to the gruesome murder of a  300 level Mass Communication Student of the Delta State University, Abraka, Miss Elozino Ogege

The resolution followed a motion by the member representing Isoko South One Constituency, Honourable Orezi Esievo under matter of urgent public importance, and seconded by Honourable Johnson Erijo.

In her debate, Honourable Orezi stated that on November 19, Miss Elozino Ogege was murdered for ritual purposes as confessed by the suspects.

The lawmaker said vital parts of the late Ogege’s body including her eyes, heart, breasts and other organs were plucked off.

She argued that the suspects have been apprehended by the Nigeria Police and have confessed to the crime adding that the motion was  to urge the State governor to direct the Attorney General and relevant agencies to expedite action on the prosecution of the suspects.

Also speaking in support of the motion, the member representing Isoko South Two constituency Honourable Johnson Erijo said that  it was indeed a sad event in the history of the state noting that late Elozino was a first class student and  shinning  star.


While commending the Police for ensuring due diligence in handling the matter,Honourable Erijo said her death was a result of conspiracy between some security personnel of the University and  internet fraudsters popularly called ‘yahoo boys stressing the need for  speedy trial of the culprits as any delay could be misinterpreted.

Other lawmakers who joined the debate, were Honourables Athony Elekeokwuri and Rueben Izeze.

The Lawmakers  condemned the murder stressing the need for the House to ensure the passage of the resolution.

They argued the need for the Director of Public Prosecution to ensure that his best team handles the matter.

The motion was unanimously passed when put to a voice vote by the Speaker, Honourable Sheriff Oborevwori.