The State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed the eight nominees forwarded to the House by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa for appointment as Commissioners and members of the State Executive Council. 

The screening of the nominees followed a motion moved by the Majority Leader Honorable Tim Owhefere seconded by the Chief Whip and member representing Oshimili North Constituency, Honourable Pat Ajudua and adopted at Thursday’s   plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon  Sheriff Oborevwori. 

First to be screened were the Honourable Basil Ganagana who is a former Speaker and Deputy Speaker and Chief Festus Ochonogor. 

After introducing themselves, the Speaker said Honourable Basil Ganagana had served the State legislature in various capacities as Speaker and Deputy Speaker while Chief Festus Ochonogor had also served the People’s Democratic Party in various capacities and granted them  the privilege of taking a bow and go. 

Three former Commissioners during the first tenure of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa Barrister Peter Mrakpor,Ogbueshi Patrick Ukah and Chief James Augoye were also given the privilege of taking a bow and go after they introduced themselves to members of the House.

The Speaker commended the nominees for working hard to improve the lives of Deltans during the governor’s first term. 

Mrs Florence  Alantan,Mr  Chika Ossai, a former Commissioner during the first term of the governor  and Professor Patrick Muoboghare also enjoyed the privilege of taking a bow and go as directed by the Speaker.

Thereafter the Majority Leader Honourable Tim Owhefere moved for the confirmation of the nominees seconded by the member representing Ughelli South Constituency, Honourable Reuben Izeze and adopted. 

The House has adjourned plenary to Tuesday July 2,2019.