The Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Oboro Preyor had after the presentation of the amendment bill and the need for it, moved for the suspension of House Rule 12, 78 and 79 to enable the House take the third reading and pass.

Hon Preyor said clauses three and four of the principal law had provided for three campuses of the Delta State University, including the Anwai campus of the university.

He stated that having made the Anwai Campus a full fledged University, known as Dennis Osadebay University, there was the need to change the Delta State University to a two campus University, hence the amendment.

The Lawmaker explained that the clause six was also being amended to transfer the facility of Management Science formerly in the Anwai Campus of Delsu, to the main campus of the Delta State University.

The motions for the suspension of the relevant rules and that of the third reading of the amendment bill were seconded by Hon Solomon Ighrakpata, Uvwie and Peter Uviejitobor, Udu, respectively and adopted.

Also at plenary, a bill for a law to repeal the Delta State House of Assembly Fund Management law 2019 and enact a law to provide for the Management of Fund Accruing to Delta State House of Assembly from the consolidated Revenue Fund of Delta State to ensure accountability, transparency, effective and efficient utilization of funds and other related matters, passed first reading on the floor of the House.

The Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori presided over Tuesday’s plenary.