The 7th Delta State House of Assembly has been inaugurated following a proclamation to that effect by the state governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa.

The Clerk of the house, Mrs ( Barrister)  Lyna Ocholor read the governor’s proclamation letter at exactly 10:06am, Monday, June 10 2019.l at the main chamber of the state House of Assembly.

The Clerk after reading the proclamation letter immediately read out the names of the members elect as forwarded to the house by the Independent National  Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Clerk thereafter presided over the elections and swearing in of the Speaker and deputy Speaker of the 7th Assembly. 

Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori, representing Okpe Constituency and immediate past Speaker of the 6th Assembly was re-elected the Speaker of the 7th Assembly following the unanimous adoption of his nomination by the member representing Isoko North, Hon Tim Owhefere and seconded by Hon Festus Okoh, Ika South.

The nomination of Hon Ocho Ocho representing Ukwuani Constituency by Hon Anthony Elekeokuri, Ika North East and seconded by Hon Rueben Izeze, Ughelli South saw his election as the Deputy Speaker of the House.

The oaths of office were administered to the  elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker by the Clerk of the House at the main chamber of the State House of Assembly.

First to take oath of office was the Deputy Speaker, Hon Ocho Ocho, immediately followed by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori.

Rt Hon Oborevwori who in his acceptance speech promised to pilot the affairs of the state legislature with every sense of responsibility, called for maximum support of all stakeholders to succeed in the task ahead.

The Speaker assured that the interest of the state and its people would remain the top priority in the activities of the House, saying that the House will perform it constitutional duties diligently and without fear or Favour.

Rt Hon Oborevwori said he will do his best to continue to provide the required leadership of the house. 

The Speaker, thereafter sworn-in other elected members of the House in line with the constitution of  Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Those that took oath of office include Hon Emeke Nwaobi, Aniocha North, Austin Chikezie, Aniocha South, Oboro Preyor, Bomadi, Asupa Forteta, Burutu One,  Pullah Ekpotuayerin, Burutu Two, Anidi Innocent, Ethiope East, Erhiatake Ibori-Suonu, Ethiope West, Oniyere Charles, Ughelli North One, Moses Anaughe, Ughelli North two, Guwor Emomotimi , Warri South West, Alfred Martins, Warri North, Augustine Uroye, Warri South 1 and Matthew Opuoru, Warri South 2.

Others include, Kenneth Ogba, Isoko south 1; Ferguson Onwo, Isoko South 2, Tim Owhefere, Isoko North, Friday Osanebi, Ndokwa East, Charles Emetulu, Ndokwa West, Rueben Izeze, Ughelli South, Pat Ajudua, Oshimili North, Shedrack Rapu, Oshimili South, Festus Okoh, Ika South, Anthony Elekeokwuri, Ika North East, Emmanuel Sinebe, Patani, Solomon Ighrakpata, Uvwie, Peter Uviejitobor, Udu and Felix Anirah, Sapele.

The Member Representing Bomadi Constituency Hon Oboro Preyor, subsequently moved a motion informing the governor, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa that the 7th Assembly has been fully constituted.

The motion was seconded by Hon Emeke Nwaobi, Aniocha North and was unanimously adopted.

The House adjourned to Tuesday,   June  18, 2019.